A Farewell to Carbs

A 30-something navigating the world of Type 2 Diabetes while remaining fun, fashionable and fabulous.

Reliable Internet connection and an evergrowing waistline 06/24/2013

Filed under: Failing,Introduction,Starting over — Diabetic Diva @ 10:40 pm

It’s been a busy … uh … year since I last posted. I bought a house, moved into the house, established a reliable Internet connection for the first time since 2005 (I know!). And, believe it or not, I’ve been doing Weight Watchers and working out and trying, trying, trying to lose some weight and get my diabetes under control. I’ve been “serious” about it for about two months now (again, I know!).

So up the upshot is … I’m back. Not much has changed about my health situation. Still on a ton of meds (4 for diabetes and 1 for high cholesterol). Still avoiding my doc and regular blood tests. Still not testing regularly. But there’s a lot I want to talk about, a lot to get down so maybe I can actually change my habits.

I’ve been hitting the gym a lot in the last few weeks, though I’m still not being very consistent with that. Here’s the thing, though, I skipped today because I had to get two cavities filled, took a nap, I hung out with a friend and all of a sudden it was too late to get to the gym. And I realized I miss it. I wish I’d gotten a little sweaty on the treadmill. I wish I’d spent some time swimming laps. I’m looking forward to going in the morning before work.

During and after a session at the gym, I feel different. I feel strong, capable, graceful and optimistic. My arms are strong enough to glide through the water of the pool. My legs are strong enough to carry me more than 2 miles on a treadmill.

It’s getting to the gym that’s the problem. I’ll wake up later than I thought I would, or I feel tired, and the gym is off the table. That’s one of the things I’m hoping to fix in the next few weeks. I want to get to the point where going to the gym is just another thing to accomplish on my daily to-do list. Any suggestions on how to get there?

 

Leave a comment